NEST 2018 2018


Admissions in NISER, Bhubaneswar and UM-DAE CEBS, Mumbai are done on the basis of a candidate’s score in NEST exam. Candidates who have passed Class XII from Science stream are eligible to apply for NEST exam.

NEST 2018 exam dates are out. The Science entrance exam is scheduled to be conducted on June 2 (10:00 AM - 1:00 PM).

Eligibility Criteria

General Eligibility:

  • Candidates fulfilling the below-mentioned requirements meet NEST 2018 eligibility criteria:
  • Candidates should pass Class XII in Science stream from a recognised board in India with at least 60% aggregate marks (55% for SC/ ST/ PwD category candidates).
  • Candidates should have passed Class XII either in 2016 or 2017. Candidates appearing for their Class XII exams in 2018 are also eligible to apply.
  • Candidates should have studied a combination of any three subjects among Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics in classes XI and XII.
  • Age criteria: Candidates belonging to General and OBC categories should be born on or after August 1, 1998 in order to fulfill NEST eligibility criteria. Age limit relaxation of five years is given to candidates belong to SC/ ST/ PwD category. 
  • For OBC category candidates, the OBC (NCL) certificate should be issued on or after June 1, 2017.

Seats available at both institutes are as mentioned below:

Category Seats at NISER Seats at CEBS
General 85 23
SC 26 7
ST 13 3
OBC 46 12

NEST 2018 Pattern:

  • NEST is a computer-based test that consists of five sections having multiple choice questions. 
  • First section of NEST 2018 is mandatory for all candidates. Out of the other four sections, candidates need to attempt any three sections. However, the official website states, "Candidates are permitted to attempt as many subject–sections as they wish. Only the best three subject–scores along with the score in the general section will be counted for evaluation."
  • Maximum marks candidates can score are 180 marks. Candidates need to complete the exam in three hours duration.



















Marking Scheme: In General section there is no negative marking. However, "in the subject sections, for certain questions there will be negative marking for incorrect answers. Some questions may have one or more correct answers for which marks can only be earned by marking all correct answers and no wrong answer," informs the official website.

Note: Number of questions in each section of NEST exam vary every year.

NEST 2018 Exam Centers:

  • NEST 2018 exam centre details are out. The Science entrance exam is scheduled to be conducted at a total of 109 centres (mentioned below) all over India.
  • Candidates can choose five exam centres in order of preference while filling the NEST application form.

Test City (State)

Chirala (AP)

Udupi (KA)

Amritsar (PB)

Guntur (AP)

Alappuzha (KL)

Bhatinda (PB)

Kakinada (AP)

Ernakulam (KL)

Jalandhar (PB)

Kurnool (AP)

Idukki (KL)

Ludhiana (PB)

Nellore (AP)

Kannur (KL)

Mohali (PB)

Rajahmundry (AP)

Kasaragod (KL)

Patiala (PB)

Tirupathi (AP)

Kollam (KL)

Jaipur (RJ)

Vijayawada (AP)

Kottayam (KL)

Udaipur (RJ)

Visakhapatnami (AP)

Kozhikode (KL)

Jodhpur (RJ)

Vizianagaram (AP)

Malappuram (KL)

Chennai (TN)

Guwahati (AS)

Palakkad (KL)

Tiruchirappalli (TN)

Patna (BR)

Pathanamthitta (KL)

Tirunelveli (TN)

Chandigarh (CH)

Thiruvananthapuram (KL)

Hyderabad (TS)

Bhilai Nagar (CG)

Thrissur (KL)

Karimnagar (TS)

Raipur (CG)

Bhopal (MP)

Warangal (TS)

New Delhi (DL)

Gwalior (MP)

Agartala (TR)

Ghaziabad (DL-NCR)

Indore (MP)

Allahabad (UP)

Greater Noida (DL-NCR)

Jabalpur (MP)

Kanpur (UP)

Meerut (DL-NCR)

Mumbai (MH)

Lucknow (UP)

Noida (DL-NCR)

Nagpur (MH)

Varanasi (UP)

Ahmedabad (GJ)

Pune (MH)

Dehradun (UK)

Bhuj (GJ)

Imphal (MN)

Haldwani (UK)

Hamirpur (HP)

Shillong (ML)

Roorkee (UK)

Shimla (HP)

Aizawl (MZ)

Asansol (WB)

Jammu (JK)

Angul (OD)

Burdwan (WB)

Samba (JK)

Balasore (OD)

Durgapur (WB)

Srinagar (JK)

Bargarh (OD)

Hooghly (WB)

Bokaro (JH)

Baripada (OD)

Kolkata (WB)

Dhanbad (JH)

Berhamipur (OD)

Siliguri (WB)

Hazaribagh (JH)

Bhubaneswar (OD)

Hazaribagh (JH)

Jamshedpur (JH)

Cuttack (OD)

Jamshedpur (JH)

Ranchi (JH)

Dhenkanal (OD)

Ranchi (JH)

Bengaluru (KA)

Jharsuguda (OD)

Coimbatore (TN)

Dharwad (KA)

Khurda (OD)

Madurai (TN)

Hubballi (KA)

Rayagada (OD)

Salem (TN)

Mangalore (KA)

Rourkela (OD)


Mysuru (KA)

Sambalpur (OD)


The exact exam centre details will be mentioned on the NEST admit card of candidates. 

Subscribe to NEST 2018 updates

Ask Expert